Industry gathers to celebrate outstanding contributors

Senior representatives from the motor industry have gathered in London to celebrate outstanding contributions to the sector at the IMI’s Annual Dinner event.

Guests were joined by Ex-Rugby player and TV Star Star Matt Dawson and Richard Noble OBE, project lead for the Bloodhound land speed record team.

This year’s prestigious Sue Brownson Award for outstanding leadership in the motor industry went to Joe Greenwell CBE, Chairman of the RAC Foundation and CEO of the Automotive Investment Organisation, for his outstanding commitment to the industry’s advancement. Last year’s winner, Lord March, was awarded a prestigious Honorary Fellowship of the IMI along with Eddie Hawthorne, Group Managing Director of Arnold Clark. 

The IMI also singled out three individuals for their outstanding contributions in the sector in new awards categories. Steph Savill, from Foxy Lady Drivers Club was recognised as an outstanding contributor to the sector on behalf of female drivers, whilst Andy Kent from Andy’s Kars Ltd was singled out for his individual achievement giving disabled and disadvantaged people opportunities in the motor industry. Andrew Moring from Morelli Group picked up outstanding contribution to the work of the IMI for his support of the Skill Auto competition.

IMI CEO Steve Nash commented:

“The IMI Annual Dinner is a chance for the industry to reflect on where we are as a sector and where we are going in the future. For this reason it is important that the IMI takes the opportunity to recognise those individuals who have made unique and important contributions to the progress of the sector. The recipients of our three new awards are all leading lights in the sector who are setting examples for other to follow. Next year’s nominees will have a hard act to follow.”

Steve Nash took the opportunity to discuss licensing automotive technicians during his annual address, as well as imploring industry leaders to consider raising the starting salary of apprentices to help attract the next generation of workers. He commented that drastic action was needed in the face of the raising of school leaving age and the lack of careers advisors in schools. Afterwards he explained:

“It is vital that the industry works together to overcome the challenges it faces and the IMI Annual Dinner is a place we can make this happen. Poor reputation and the need for skilled individuals to keep up with new technology are issues we consistently face in the sector. The IMI firmly believes licensing is one solution we must all consider to address these problems. We also believe the industry must act immediately and as a unified force to ensure the future success of the apprenticeship system on which we all rely.”

This year’s IMI Annual dinner sponsors included; Remit, Enterprise, Aptech Systems Limited, Chapman HR Consulting, Continuum Insurance, Cyber-Duck, S&B Automotive Academy and Marshall Motor Group.

Notes to Editor

2015 IMI Annual Dinner Awards Winners

Honorary Fellowships

The Earl of March

Eddie Hawthorne – Arnold Clark

Sue Brownson award for outstanding leadership in automotive

Joe Greenwell CBE – Automotive Investment Organisation (AIO) and RAC Foundation

Outstanding contribution to the work of the IMI

Andrew Moring – Morelli Group

Outstanding contribution to the motor industry

Steph Savill – Foxy Lady Drivers Club

Outstanding individual achievement in the motor industry

Andy Kent – Andy’s Kars Ltd